Theatre Enthusiasts to be Kore Famous


(Above) The cast of Keating! The Musical
Photo courtesy of Kyle Stephens.

Theatre-fanatic Kyle Stephens went on a steep learning curve running his theatre company, Kore Productions, following the success of its first musical.

The 19-year-old from Eagle-Vale started Kore Productions this year from his love of theatre and a vision of where it will take him.

“The only way I was going to be able to put on the productions I wanted to see done was by making my own theatre company,” he said.

A bumpy road for Kore Productions’ first show, Keating! The Musical, has been a great learning experience for the amateur-producer.

“I learnt all the things I shouldn’t do with producing,” he joked, adding that the best way to learn is on the job.

“Especially in theatre […] you have to make mistakes in order to learn something.”

The 2011 graduate of Newtown Performing Arts High School splits his time between studying at the Australian Institute of Music and working at Kings Street Theatre.

“I’m really into the productions side of things,” he said.

“But my real passion is to actually be on stage for the productions I put on.”

If Stephens takes anything from his first experience producing, he says it will be his management of money.

“Budgeting is the most important thing,” he said. “You have to know how much everything is going to cost before you go into

“Keating was the musical that Kore Productions had to have.”
Photo courtesy of Kyle Stephens

production-mode.”

Stephens plans to release a Kore Productions magazine three times a year to not only build publicity for the company, but raise money.

Julian Kelijian, audio director for Kore Productions, believes Stephens has what it takes to keep the company alive and growing.

“He has the ambition and the support of a lot of helpful people,” said Julian.

“He wants to establish a name for the company. He wants to be known in the industry.”

Stephens would love to see a flow of regulars for Kore Productions auditions to turn them into stars.

“They can become ‘Kore’ famous,” he said.

Stephens envisions it will take up to two years to build a steady fan base of the company.

Kore Productions will put on its second show, Zombie Prom, in March 2013.

About nhl961

I’m Nicole Heather Langridge, a, 18 year old quirky and eager new University of Wollongong student. I’m studying a Bachelor of Creative Arts (Creative Writing) and Bachelor of Journalism. I hope to explore and advance on my creative writing skills over the next few years of this course as well as learn how to write from a Journalist perspective, which I am finding is very different. I can’t see myself doing anything career wise that isn’t writing orientated so I am hoping to expand my creativity and skills to different branches and styles of writing. The blog “Arts in the Community” will focus on just that! What I mean by this is that I hope to blog about different artistic examples in my local and surrounding communities. I think the attitude and attention paid to the arts in the community is a little lower than what it deserves and is often past over as amateur. I hope that with my blog I can explore and discover the underside to this unique community the diverse activities that occur from productions to exhibitions to the opinions of those directly involved in these areas. My new stories will focus on upcoming artistic events that are happening in the surrounding areas such as annual Playwriting Festivals, new theatre productions, and upcoming exhibitions. Accompanying these stories will be profiles on those directly involved in these events being uncovered such as performers or directors, focusing on their experiences in the arts and their opinions of it on contemporary society.

Posted on October 22, 2012, in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

